Brushed by Feathers: A Year of Birdwatching in the West

Oh my! Brushed by Feathers: A Year of Birdwatching in the West, by Frances L. Wood, is an amazing book, filled with wonderful insights regarding birds.

From the first page until the last, I enjoyed every moment spent immersing myself within the world of birds and birding. Being an avid bird-lover and never having my fill of viewing them, Brushed by Feathers spoke to me on many levels.

Wherever I am, whether walking in the neighborhood, a park, or by a lake, pond, river or the sea, birding is one of my passions, and favorite pleasures. I often find myself so involved within the watching, that I do not take photographs.

Within this book’s contents, the reader feels the intensity which flows through Wood’s veins regarding birds. Her writings describe particular elements of certain species. Her knowledge of birds in relation to landscape is vividly depicted. Her travels in order to be able to view specific birds brings the reader a unique perspective on birding. The prose is abundant with beautiful word-imagery, and every minute detail breathes her love for, and joy of, our feathered-friends.

Aside from her writings, she has also included sketches within the pages, and the reader has more reasons to stop and reflect, through these images. Her humor also shines through, as she brought this reader little ditties that made me smile, and even laugh out loud.

I highly recommend Brushed by Feathers: A Year of Birdwatching in the West. It is so much more than a journal or diary. It is an excellent resource, and a book written with deep respect and love for birds and nature. Her prose is almost poetic, and she paints beautiful word-visuals that one can not help but be enthralled with.

I feel fortunate-I discovered this book at a local library book sale. As soon as I saw it, I grabbed it. I am grateful to have read it. I, myself, was brushed with the beauty, tones and contrasts involved in birdwatching, through Frances L. Wood’s illuminating book.

2 Comments

Filed under Blogrolls, Non-Fiction

2 responses to “Brushed by Feathers: A Year of Birdwatching in the West

  1. Wonderfully informative review, thanks for sharing this!

  2. Pingback: European birdwatching game | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

