Self-Publishing: Quest & Quandary?

To self-publish or not to self-publish, that is the question, I mean quest or quandary.

I find that there are so many self-published books on the market, and a good percentage of them are what I would call unsuitable, word garbage, not well-written, books with fillers, books unedited correctly, books that were self-published so the writer could equate themselves as a published author, and so on. But, don’t get me wrong, there are some brilliant self-published books that I feel have not received their proper attention. Self-publishing is a booming market, and an extremely competitive one. In the quest for book publication, there seems to be a quandary regarding self-publication.

I came across a few good articles on the subject:

Self-publishing’s vices and virtues, in my opinion, is one article that summarizes the quandary quite aptly.

Is Self-Publishing Killing Books? This article depicts the other side of the coin.

I Planted My Self-Published Book on Barnes & Noble’s Shelves…And People Bought It – This article describes a unique way of selling a book, albeit, with no profit to the author, but profit to the store (even though the book is not in their inventory).

Should You Self-Publish Your First Book? Should you? Read the article and decide for yourself.

This is an interesting article: 3 Things I Learned About Self-Publishing

2 Comments

Filed under Blogrolls, Book Diva News, General

2 responses to “Self-Publishing: Quest & Quandary?

  1. Very interesting and thoughtful post, BD. I recently read two books that were self-published, and began to wonder about some of the very issues you raise here.

Leave a Reply

