Review: International Night: A Father and Daughter Cook Their Way Around the World

International Night: A Father and Daughter Cook Their Way Around the World, by Mark Kurlansky and Talia Kurlansky, peaked my interest and senses. I have finished reading this deliciously delightful book! I loved every sentence, and recipe.

I found myself taken to other lands, and my senses were awakened through the salivating sounding recipes. From spices to herbs, and ingredients, I could not only see the recipe in written form, but could feel the textures within them, inhale the scents, and taste the finished appetizer, side dish, main course, and/or dessert.

Mark Kurlansky and his daughter, Talia, set out on a journey around the world. The journey was taken through the trials and errors of the mastering of food for their Friday night dinners. He would spin a globe, Talia’s finger would find the country, and that would determine the Friday night meal. They shared a world adventure, not only in cultural diversity, but also in food. They achieved their ambitions through their preparations, cooking, and through tasting more bites than one. Their tummies smiled.

Father and daughter have turned an idea into a family tradition. It has brought out the effects and affects of how ideas can lead to bonding, a deep bonding that will last through generations of cooking and dining delights.

I will be trying a couple of recipes, and when I do, will update my review.

I can imagine other readers enjoying the book as much as I did.

Thank you to Goodreads for the complimentary Advanced Review Copy. International Night: A Father and Daughter Cook Their Way Around the World will be published August 19, 2014.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogrolls, Book Diva's Book Reviews, Non-Fiction

Leave a Reply

