D-Day: Books and Remembrance

In a late recognition of the 70th Anniversary of D-Day, I find myself poring through books on the subject, books from my own library. I have been looking through them for several days, now, as I do every year during a D-Day Anniversary. On D-Day, itself, I was watching reenactments, watching TV shows regarding D-Day, and watching special interviews and such. I browsed a few blogs, and also looked at videos online. But, books are a part of my world, a part of my essence. So, I browsed through them, also, in honor of D-Day.

Here are a few recommendations regarding books relating to D-Day:

D Day: June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II, by Stephen E. Ambrose

Band of Brothers: E Company, 506th Regiment, 101st Airborne from Normandy to Hitler’s Eagle’s Nest, by Stephen E. Ambrose

The Longest Day, by Cornelius Ryan

Omaha Beach: D-Day, June 6, 1944, by Joseph Balkoski

Decision in Normandy, by Carlo D’Este

Double Cross: The True Story of the D-Day Spies, by Ben MacIntyre

A Soldier’s Story, by Omar Nelson Bradley

Six Armies In Normandy, by John Keegan

The Dead and Those About to Die: D-Day: The Big Red One at Omaha Beach, by John C. McManus

The Germans in Normandy by, Richard Hargreaves

We can never be educated enough on the subject of D-Day, what it meant then, for America, England and other countries, and what it means now. We must never forget the sacrifices of so many to the cause against genocide, to the cause against the maniacal leader of a country, and to the cause for freedom.

For those who died in battle, I offer my deep and sincere thank you, and hope they are all resting in peace. For those who survived the battle, I offer my deep and sincere thank you and gratitude for serving under such adverse conditions.

I leave you with this heartwarming story, a story of determination and desire, and a story that had me yelling “bravo” for the effort to reach the celebration.

I will never forget…

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Diva News

Leave a Reply

