Khaled Housseini

I am eagerly looking forward to Khaled Hosseini’s upcoming novel, And The Mountains Echoed. It will be released on May 21, 2013, in the U.S.

I read both of his other novels, The Kite Runner, and A Thousand Splendid Suns.

I remember an incident about four months after his novel, The Kite Runner was published. I was in a book store, browsing the tables. One table had The Kite Runner on it. I was looking at a book next to it. Beside me stood a man, and he picked up The Kite Runner.

He asked me if I had read it, and I told him that I had, and that I highly recommended it. He told me that he had already read it, and was wondering if I knew if the author had another book, or if a new one was coming out. I told him no, to both of his questions.

He then said to me that he sure hoped that a new book would be published by him, because he was extremely touched by The Kite Runner. He said that sections of it moved him to tears. I, myself, almost cried listening to him choking up, by the thought of the novel.

There are moments in life when books touch our very souls, when stories cross borders, ethnic backgrounds/cultures, genders, religion, etc. Those are the books we never forget. Those are the books that bring a bond, a commonality between two strangers.

2 Comments

Filed under Blogrolls, Book Diva's Book Reviews, Fiction

2 responses to “Khaled Housseini

  1. I’m sure you know this but some of your readers may not…there is a Q & A going on at goodreads with Hosseini. The new book looks interesting.

Leave a Reply

