Books Adapted to Film

I am an avid reader, as you well know. And, I am a film-aholic. Books have often been made into films. Some (not all) of my favorite books that were adapted for film are:

The Life of Pi, by Yann Martel. I read the book when it was first published, years ago, and enjoyed it. I enjoyed the film, as well.

Les Miserables, by Victor Hugo.

The Age of Innocence, by Edith Wharton

Bridges of Madison County, by Robert James Waller

The English Patient, by Michael Ondaatje

Doctor Zhivago
, by Boris Pasternak

Contact, by Carl Sagan

The French Lieutenant’s Woman
, by John Fowles

Sophie’s Choice, by William Styron

Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte

My Sister’s Keeper, by Jodi Picoult

Exodus, by Leon Uris

The Kiterunner
, by Khaled Hosseini

Anna Karenina, by Leo Tolstoy

These are just a few, and there are so many more I could name, hundreds for sure.

When viewing a film adapted from a book I have read, I try to see the film for what it is, and not compare it to the book. I have found it works best for me that way. If I try to compare, I usually end up not enjoying the movie. I do not see a film first. Any film transitioned from a book, is one I see only if I have read the book.

All rights reserved © Copyright 2007 – 2013 – All Rights Reserved – No permission is given or allowed to reuse my photography, book reviews, writings, or my poetry in any form/format without my express written consent/permission.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogrolls, Fiction, Historical Novels, Literature/Fiction

Leave a Reply

